World No Tobacco Day-2019

World Health Organization (WHO) has declared every year 31st of May as the World No Tobacco Day (WNTD). The main aim of this campaign is […]

Launch of the TobaccoUnmasked(TU) 100th Post

Tobacco Unmasked is the official information portal of the Centre for Combating Tobacco (CCT) based on a MediaWiki platform. It contains evidence based information on […]

Launch of the South Asian Regional Consortium Centre for Combating Tobacco (SARC-CCT)

‘’Tobacco is the only legally available consumer product which kills people when used entirely as intended.’’ The tobacco industry is a global entity. Tobacco industry […]

Launch of the Community Driven Tobacco Surveillance System (CDTSS)

Centre for Combating Tobacco (CCT) developed a free mobile app named as TobaccoUnmasked_HotSpots to report activities of the tobacco industry. The inputs from this app […]

Jayantha Egodawela

Jayantha Egodawela (Image 1) is the president of the All Ceylon Cigarette Tobacco Barn Owners' Association (Barn Owners’ Association), the association of the registered barn owners of Ceylon Tobacco Company PLC (CTC). CTC, a subsidiary of British American Tobacco (BAT), holds the monopoly of cigarette manufacturing and sales in Sri Lanka.[Read more]

Ministry of Defence: Ministers and Officials

This post compiles profiles of individuals linked to the Ministry of Defence, who were subsequently targeted by the tobacco industry with various tactics of influence. You can access detailed information on individuals and incidents mentioned in this post by clicking on the respective names and links. This page will continuously be updated with more profiles and new information as and fresh evidence and reports emerge.[Read more]

Ceylon Tobacco Launching a Cigarette Targeting Women

Global evidence reveals that tobacco companies target women and girls through diverse marketing and advertising strategies. Introduction of ‘feminised’ cigarettes: long, extra slim, light coloured, low tar and flavoured are such strategies used. Recent evidence suggests that those are increasingly used in developing countries.[Read more]

Hemakumara Nanayakkara

Hemakumara Nanayakkara, born in 1953, is an Agriculturist and a Politician in Sri Lanka. He has represented United National Party (UNP) and United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA), and has also formed a political party called Mawbima Janatha Party. He had his formal education at Richmond College, Galle. He was awarded a Doctorate in Organic Agriculture by the Post Graduate Institute of Agriculture, University of Peradeniya.[Read more]